RWC finals – closer contests ?

The answer to this question we suggest is that the sample size is just too small to generalise.

Certainly the points margin in the last three finals (which might be considered the real pro era) has been a maximum of 9.

The data available on the editions to date is summarised below (source: World Rugby archives).

RWC Winner Runner-up Pts Diff
2011 New Zealand France 1
2007 South Africa England 9
2003 England Australia 3
1999 Australia France 23
1995 South Africa New Zealand 3
1991 Australia England 6
1987 New Zealand France 20
Points difference
Average 9.29
Median 6
High 23
Low 1
Std Dev 8.77

Also in graphic form here RWC Finals Points Difference

Published by

Empirical Rugby

Empirical Rugby is a blog that provides fundmental insight into rugby union using empirical analysis of rugby data.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s