Who has won RWCs ? (2 of 3)

Table 2 below sets out some additional details in relation to past finalists.

One of the most striking features is that France has reached three finals and unfortunately for them, lost in all three.

New Zealand’s sole loss in the final stage was to South Africa in 1995 (an era subsequently immortalised in the movie “Invictus”).

Table 2 PAST RUGBY WORLD CUPS (1987 – 2011)
  Total Outright RWC Wins Total Final Appearances Final Success Ratio
Australia 2 3 66,67%
England 1 3 33,33%
France 0 3 0,00%
New Zealand 2 3 66,67%
South Africa 2 2 100,00%
Sources: World Rugby website, own calculations

Published by

Empirical Rugby

Empirical Rugby is a blog that provides fundmental insight into rugby union using empirical analysis of rugby data.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s